the city beautiful

all this week my heart has burned for Orlando like nothing I’ve ever known before. all this week I’ve wanted to fly to the city I grew up in to sit with people, talk with people, listen to people, hug people, pray with people.

this morning as I prayed for Orlando, I saw Jesus walking down the streets of the city.

down 50, up Orange, on 17-92, around lake eola, through church street, up i4 and 408 and the 417.

and everywhere Jesus walked, his fingers traced the edges of buildings, grazed signs; his feet felt bricks beneath them in thornton park.

and everywhere he went, and everything he touched… the black and white picture filled with vibrant color. and people driving, as they entered the city limits, they were hit with a wall, a wave of peace.

and when Jesus met people on the street, he held their faces in his hands. he ran his fingers through their hair.

and tonight I was praying through that beautiful image and I heard Jesus say, “I am the best one to hug, to hold, to listen, to intercede for my people.”

and, y’all, I believe he is good. I believe he is good. I believe he is good. And I believe the tragedies in the 407 were not his doing, and they aren’t his desire, and they aren’t his heart.

and I believe he is walking Orlando, even now, touching everything, and everyone,and truly making the city beautiful.

He says this to you, Orlando:

The Spirit of the Lord God is upon me, because the Lord has anointed me to bring good news to the poor; he has sent me to bind up the brokenhearted, to proclaim liberty to the captives, and the opening of the prison to those who are bound; to proclaim the year of the Lord’s favor, and the day of vengeance of our God; to comfort all who mourn; to grant to those who mourn in Zion — to give them a beautiful headdress instead of ashes, the oil of gladness instead of mourning, the garment of praise instead of a faint spirit; that they may be called oaks of righteousness, the planting of the Lord, that he may be glorified. They shall build up the ancient ruins; they shall raise up the former devastations; they shall repair the ruined cities, the devastations of many generations.

One thought on “the city beautiful

  1. So so beautiful Megan. He is here, you can feel him all around. This city is so full of love right now! We miss you!! ❤

I like your words.

