A Big Move!

Hi friends!

It’s been a while, hasn’t it? I guess I should fill you in, if you haven’t heard already: In January (read: three weeks) I’ll be packing all of my belongings and moving! It’s been a year since I moved back to the States, and while I’ve thoroughly enjoyed the warmth of Florida, I am both anxious for change and eager to follow the Lord’s guiding. This time, though, instead of heading across the globe, I’ll be heading up north to the great state of Pennsylvania. Or, “Pee-ay” as I’m told people call it.

I’m really, super, stinking excited about moving. I get to live with my precious grandparents, explore a new and exciting city, and take a shot at establishing myself in a place where I know less than ten people (outside of family members). It is both exhilarating and frightening and I love every bit of it. I keep going back to the conversation that Lorelai and Luke had in the diner when Lorelai decided she wanted to open her own B&B.

LUKE: You’re just scared. Just like everybody else when they’re taking on something big.

LORELAI: Well, then what does everybody else do to get through this feeling?

LUKE: They run in the back, throw up, pass out and then smack their head on the floor.

LORELAI: What?

LUKE: That’s what I did on the first morning I opened the diner. Look, there is no button to push to get you through this. You just gotta jump in and be scared and stick with it until it gets fun.

LORELAI: How long ’til the diner got fun?

LUKE: About a year.

LORELAI: Wow. And there’s no button?

LUKE: Nope.

LORELAI: How about a lever, can I pull a lever?

LUKE: Nope.

LORELAI: Turn a knob?

LUKE: Nope.

LORELAI: You just jump?

LUKE: You just jump.

LORELAI: I wanna do it.

LUKE: You should do it.

On top of moving to a big city (with it’s own football team, baseball team, and ice hockey team!!!!!), I’m also in the process of applying for two graduate programs at the University of Pittsburgh. Both the School of Law and the School of Public and International Affairs have caught my eye, and it just so happens that Pitt has a joint degree program for the Juris Doctor and Master’s of Public and International Affairs.

It’s a big goal.

huge goal.

But – and if you’re a Jesus loving person I hope you can identify with me on this and be supportive and encouraging – I have been praying a great deal about a very many things, and school is one of them. So far, Jesus has opened up every door to get me to Pittsburgh that could have possibly been shut in my face (and that I thought would be shut in my face). I’m believing that He is already opening doors for me to attend grad school here, that He will bless me abundantly with financial aid for said grad school, and that He has gone before me and prepared the way.

Things are just working out up there already. He isn’t moving me there for nothing, and I get giddy like a child when I think about the surprises that are waiting for me in Pittsburgh.

So while I’m scared like Lorelai, I also think that I can do it. And I want to do it. And I have other people believing in me that I can do it.

I just need the endurance to push through it, and the humility to remember that every good and perfect gift comes from above.

I’m moving to Pittsburgh in the dead of winter to establish myself and attend grad school because Jesus has led me there, has prepared the way, and has something there for me.

And that is incredible.

So, if you wouldn’t mind praying for me, I would be very appreciative.

Please pray for:

  • A safe journey on my drive to Pitt
  • A job that will, at the very least, allow me to pay all my bills and help my grandparents out with groceries and/or a tank of gas for their car
  • Financial provision for both the registration to cover the LSAT (that I need to register for by January 7th and take in February) & study materials, and the finances to apply for the two grad schools
  • A miracle from Jesus wherein I am accepted to both programs(!!)
  • Financial provision in the form of scholarships and grants and extra money from that job mentioned above so that I can afford school without burying myself in further student loan debt
  • More friends to be made in Pittsburgh
  • and most importantly, a deeper, stronger desire to see Jesus, and hunger for the Word

Thanks friends!

One thought on “A Big Move!

I like your words.

