Home

There are days when I forget that this is what the Lord has called me to.  I start thinking about how this year abroad is going to basically be one big adventure.  I don’t know what will happen, or when it will happen, and sometimes that starts to make me anxious.

 

Hold on, to me as we go
As we roll down this unfamiliar road

 

And when I get anxious like that, I just remember: This is what the Lord has called me to.  He doesn’t call the equipped, He equips the called.  I may not be the most impressive theologian or the greatest orator, and I am certainly not the most intelligent, nor am I the most skilled – but the Lord has called me to this.  And it is kind of, really, extremely exciting to not know what the year will bring.

 

And although this wave is stringing us along
Just know you’re not alone
Cause I’m going to make this place your home

 

The best part of the year will undoubtably be the growth that will take place in my personal life.  This has been a thought that has recently weighed heavy on my mind.  This year will be a year of growth, and stretching, and learning to lean hard into Christ.  For so long I’ve been comfortable, surrounded by people who know and love me and speak encouraging words to me.  I’m not saying I won’t have that in Cambodia;  I’m saying I won’t have my core group around me.  I’ll be without my support system within reach.  It will be a hassle trying to get ahold of people with a twelve hour time difference between us.  So the growing, the stretching, the leaning hard into Christ… it will be bittersweet, and such a blessing.  It’s already bittersweet, not knowing exactly what will happen.  But also so stinking exciting, friends.

 

Settle down, it’ll all be clear

My spirit rests in knowing that God has it all under control.  I am at peace knowing that the Creator stands outside of time and sees everything that will happen, and how it all will end.  He sees the really good things that will happen, and He sees my joy and my happiness in those things.

 

Don’t pay no mind to the demons
They fill you with fear
The trouble it might drag you down

 

But He also sees the things that will break my heart, make me cry, and cause me to fall on my knees in prayer.  He sees it all.  He knows it all.  He knows my weaknesses and if and when they will get the best of me, and He knows my failures and struggles.  He sees it all.  He knows it all.

 

If you get lost, you can always be found
Just know you’re not alone

 

But in His omniscience, His grace is all-encompassing.  In His omniscience, His hand is still present in my life.  He will continually guide me back to Him.  He will constantly remind me of the Truth.  He will bring my focus, my hope, my purpose back to Him.

 

Cause I’m going to make this place your home

 

He will remind me that He is my Home.

I like your words.

