Support Letter & Budget

Dear Friends,

This past summer, I was given the opportunity to do my senior internship with an organization called Rapha House.  Rapha House is a 501(c)3 organization that provides safe-homes for girls in both Cambodia and Thailand.  Here, girls rescued out of slavery and sexual exploitation are loved, rescued, and find true healing in Jesus Christ.

This internship had me traveling through the Midwest to speak at camps, a VBS, and a church.  I also spent time working in the Rapha House office in Joplin, Missouri, assisting the staff in any way I could.

Near the end of my internship, I was approached by a staff member and asked if I would pray about and consider moving to Cambodia for a year.  During this year I would be teaching and working with Rapha House as an assistant to the Director of Client Services.

After a time of prayer and seeking Godly counsel through the older men and women I am surrounded by, I came to the belief that Cambodia is truly where the Lord has been leading me over the past few years and my passion for ministry is here.  The plan is to move in May 2013 after my graduation from Florida Christian College.  Part of me getting there, however, includes gathering prayer partners and raising support.  I humbly ask for your assistance in these things.

First, would you please consider coming alongside of me as a prayer partner, remembering me daily as I work to further the Kingdom?  The Enemy is strong in Cambodia, and I know that already he is working against me in my commitment to live among the people.  Please pray that the Lord would be my strength, and that I would rely on Him and remember to trust in Him.  Please also pray that I would not be put off by any of the Enemy’s attempts, but rather encouraged knowing that Christ has already defeated him.

Secondly, would you please prayerfully consider partnering with me as a financial supporter?  The estimated cost of my year in Cambodia is around $26,000.  I know that the number is big, but I also know that our God is much bigger than a few zeros.  I am asking that you/your family/the church prayerfully consider supporting me as I work in Cambodia.  Any and all gifts are greatly appreciated: I know that small things add up quickly.

I want to thank you in advance for all of your prayers, encouragement, and support.  The ministry of Rapha House has been one that has been on my heart since I was in high school, and now the King has led me to this point.  I am amazed at the opportunities He has put before me.  Thank you for being such an important part in His plan for my life.

Grace and peace to you,

Megan Tucker

CAMBODIA BUDGET

 

One Time Costs:

Plane Tickets: $3,000

Visas: $300

Apartment Furnishings: $1,000

Motorcycle: $1,000

Printer: $100

Traditional Khmer Wedding/Funeral Outfits: $100

One Time Needs: $5500

 

Monthly Costs:

Apartment: $75

Electricity: $60

Cell Phone: $70

Internet: $50

Emergency Fund: $100

Food: $300

Supporter Relations: $100

Language School: $200

Health Insurance: $100

Personal: $700 – Includes: student loan payments, day-to-day expenses (toiletries, etc.), modest income for savings

Monthly Need: $1,755

 

Total Need For One Year: $26,560

I like your words.

