An Update (Because It’s About Time)

This past week I was in Orlando for the North American Christian Convention, and I ran into my friend Hiatt (hi Hiatt!), and she scolded me saying I haven’t posted in a while.  She’s right.  So, anyone who reads this has Hiatt to thank for kicking me in the rear.

This summer has been kind of crazy and I feel like I haven’t really sat down to just breathe in a while.  The last time I updated was pre-Florida trip when I was packing for the NACC.  Since then I have gone to Florida, ran around like a crazy person, played the role of personal assistant/handler/merchant/informant at the NACC, flown back to Joplin, and have come down with a cold.  One of my boss’ daughters gave me the cold, and I seem to be on the downside of it, so for that I am thankful. 

Today I’ve skipped church (because I was sick and tired), merged files for six hours, and finished watching season six of The Office.  I think I watched three discs of the season today, and three yesterday.  Now I have to decide what tv series I want to watch next: Bones, Felicity, Gilmore Girls, Castle, Dawson’s Creek, or Hawthorne.  Tough decisions, I know. 

Hopefully I will be well enough in the morning to go to work and be in the office without infecting anyone.  Fingers crossed, prayers said.  

 

Joplin is lonely.  I have a few friends here, mostly from the office (they are either co-workers, or relatives of co-workers).  I hang out with my friend from Oviedo sometimes – he is here as a student at Ozark Christian College and is working there over the summer.  It is real nice to have him around on the boring evenings – he shows me around Joplin and we talk about old youth group days and we debate over who’s college is better (FCC is, obviously).  

I miss Florida.  I miss Oviedo, really, which is weird because Oviedo hasn’t been my home for going on four years now.  I woke up this morning and I immediately missed my friends and home church. 

Last Sunday was one of the best days I’ve had in a very long time, simply because I spent the day with some of my dearest friends.  I went to church, but instead of actually sitting in service, I stood in what is now called the “Snarky Vestibule” with a few people.  We made snarky comments and giggled quietly between the fire and auditorium doors.  While I may not have listened to the sermon at all, it was very good for my soul to be in such fellowship with some people who mean the most to me.  It was also a good time going out to lunch afterwards, where even more fellowship was had.  My heart really needed some good, solid friend time.

 

I’m running out of things to say.  To reward myself for doing six hours of work on a Sunday, I’m watching Mrs. Doubtfire.  

 

I need to go. My headache is coming back.  Holler.

3 thoughts on “An Update (Because It’s About Time)

  1. It’s good to see you writing again my friend! It was also VERY good to see you last week. I am praying for you and the rest of your time in Joplin. Love you! Hiatt

  2. It’s good to see you writing again my friend! And, it was great to see you last week! I am praying for you and the rest of your time in Joplin. I am excited about all the things God is preparing you for! Love you! Hiatt

I like your words.

