Day 2

Yesterday was an all around lazy day. It was great.

We woke up early and headed to the staff devotionals and meeting. Funny story, apparently the interpreter for the man who was speaking, Bill, interpreted in a crazy way. It was funny hearing about it later on last night. (:

Then, we went and got breakfast and brought it back to the apartment.

Then, Erica and I worked on our lessons for the first six fruits of the spirit. They are pretty decent, I think. It should be interesting.

Then, the other Erica (who lives here) brought home lunch for us and we ate.

Then, I worked on some homework. Yep – I’ve got homework to do while in Cambodia. One paper down, two more to go. Then a BIG paper due later on at the end of June. I might die.

Then, I took a wee little nap.

Then, I woke up.

Then, we went to dinner at a little hut restaurant down the road. The best part was that we rode on motos. I was on the back of Yan’s, and on the way home I was just sitting there looking out at the grasses and the sky and feeling the cool air of the Cambodian night and I just could not believe how blessed I am. It was one of those surreal moments when you sort of move in slow motion and can really soak in every bit of detail around you. It was wonderful.

Then, we watched part of Tangled.

Then, we slept.

Now, I’m awake.

To be honest, I’m having a hard time pinning down any emotions. Maybe I’m still real tired from that plane ride and the time change and everything, but I just cannot pick any one emotion and really feel it. I know there is happiness in me. Joy, probably. Pure, unadulterated joy. And I know I’ve had a lot of fun so far. There has been a lot of laughter. And I know that I feel extremely blessed and I am still in that “Oh my gosh, this is real. This is happening” phase.

 

What I find myself thinking mostly is just remembering how God brought me here. How He brought me back. How He answered that prayer I prayed in my journal on the journey home in August. How He saw the desires of my heart and granted me those things. How I am forever thankful and completely in awe of His love for me and how He cares.

How have I been found worthy of such a great calling? Sometimes I think that the Lord has surely called the wrong person to do this work, but the King does not call the equipped but equips the called.

So here I am, called, and being equipped for the work that the Lord has set before me.

I am blessed. I am thankful. I am humbled by His choice in me. I am moved to tears.

 

Thank you, God.

I like your words.

