Crazy is..

Yesterday I sent an email to Dave, my professor, mentor, and friend, sharing with him all my fears and “what ifs” and frustrations and everything. He replied, addressing each thing I said, and then he said this:

“You know those are lies. Stand the devil up with the truth. You are a new creation. You are a daughter of Abraham, an heir of God’s promise, according to God’s promise. You have been forgiven. You are being renewed. He makes you adequate. He is your adequacy. He equips you through his Word for every good work. He has called you for good works. His divine power has given you everything you need for life and godliness (and we need nothing more or less). Read the Scriptures simply to hear the Authority tell you who you are and what you are about, and rebuke the liar and crowd him out. Be God’s. Be God’s girl. Be God’s girl growing in love, mercy, truth, patience, understanding, kindness, longsuffering… and then just pour it out. You can’t go wrong. This is who you are. This is what your habit of life has been and is. Now, the fruit that this walk has produced and is producing in you is simply to be poured out on those you encounter throughout this summer.”

 

Words I desperately needed to hear. Reminding me to bring it all back to the King. Give it all back to Him. Glorify Him. Fill myself up with His Word and pour myself out for Him.

 

Thank you, Dave, for being sane for me in the moments that I am absolutely crazy.

I like your words.

